Managing Content

Managing Content

Adding content to your site is an easy process no matter whether you’re creating a Post or a Page. The procedure for both is almost identical. Apart from how they display on your site, which was described earlier, the other main difference is that Posts allow you to associate Categories and Tags whereas Pages don’t. What’s the difference between categories and tags? Normally, Tags are ad-hoc keywords that identify important information in your Post (names, subjects, etc) that may or may not recur in other Posts, while Categories are pre-determined sections. If you think of your site like a book, the Categories are like the Table of Contents and the Tags are like the terms in the index.

Adding a New Page

To add a new Page, hover your cursor over the Pages menu option in the left hand navigation menu and in the fly-out menu, click the Add New link. Alternatively, click the Pages menu option and then click the Add New link underneath, or the Add New button at the top of the page. You will be presented with a page similar to the image below.

1

Adding a New Post

To add a new Post, hover over the Posts menu option in the left hand navigation menu and in the fly-out menu, click the Add New link. Alternatively, click the Posts menu option and then click the Add New link underneath, or the Add New button at the top of the page. You will be presented with a page similar to the image below.

2

Editing Existing Content

To edit an existing page, simply click on the relevant Page/Post title, when viewing your list of Pages or Posts. Alternatively, click on the Edit link that appears beneath the title when hovering your cursor over each row.

3

The screen that appears will be exactly the same as the Add New Page/Add New Post screen, only with the existing content displayed. When you’ve finished editing your Page/Post, click the Update button.

Deleting Content

If you wish to delete one of your Pages or Posts, click on the Trash link that appears beneath the title when hovering your cursor over each row. This will move the Page/Post to the Trash.

4

To delete the Page/Post permanently or to restore the Page/Post, click the Trash link at the top of the screen. When the cursor is hovering over each item in the Trash, theRestore and Delete Permanently links appear. Click Delete Permanently to permanently remove a single Page or Post. Clicking Restore will restore the Page or Post.

5

If you would like to permanently delete or restore numerous items at once, click the checkboxes next to the items you would like to delete or restore and then choose eitherRestore or Delete Permanently from the Bulk Actions dropdown list at the top of the page. After selecting the appropriate action click the Apply button to make your change. Alternatively, click the Empty Trash button to delete all the items in the Trash.

Adding Categories within your Post

Adding Categories whilst editing your Post will automatically assign those Categories to your Post.

When adding or editing your Post, the Categories panel can be found just below the Format panel if your Theme supports Post Formats. Alternatively, it will reside just below the Publish panel. To add an existing Category, simply tick the checkbox(es) next to the Categories you’d like to assign to the Post.

If you would like to create a new Category and assign it to the Post at the same time, click the + Add New Category link. Two fields will then appear. Type the name of the Category that you’d like to add into the empty input field. If you’d like the new Category to have a Parent, select it from the Parent Category dropdown list. Click the Add New Category button when done to create the Category and automatically assign it to the Post.

Adding HTML Link

HTML links allow your site visitors to easily navigate around your site. They’re also used when you want to allow people to download files from your site, such as PDFs or other documents, for viewing images or even just linking to other websites. HTML links will frequently be shown with an underline to differentiate it from other text, but this may vary depending on the theme you’re currently using.

Inserting an HTML Link

Inserting an html link in your Page/Post to one of your own pages or another site is extremely easy. Simply click and drag the cursor and highlight the text that you want turned into a link and then click the Insert/edit link button (insertlink). As well as being able to insert a link to another site, you can also easily insert a link to one of your existing Posts or Pages by simply selecting it from a list.

6

In the popup window that is displayed, simply fill in URL and the Title and then click the Add Link button.

  • URL – URL of the page or website that you would like to create a link to
  • Title – The text to display in tooltip form when the cursor hovers over the link
  • Open link in a new window/tab – When someone clicks the link you can have it open in the same window (default setting) or have it open in a new browser window/tab

Alternatively, if you’d like to add a link to one of your existing Posts or Pages, simply click the Or link to existing content link to display a list of your existing content then select the relevant page from the supplied list. If you have a large number of pages within your site, you can type the Page or Post name in the Search field to make it easier to find. As you type, the list will re-populate based on matching results. After selecting one of your existing pages, the relevant details will be updated in the URL and Title fields. Click the Add Link button to add your link.

Editing an HTML Link

Simply click the link within your Page/Post that you’d like to edit, to position the cursor somewhere within it and then click the Insert/edit link button (insertlink). A popup window will appear, just like when the link was originally inserted. Update the required details and click the Update button.

Removing an HTML Link

To remove an html link, click the link within your post that you’d like to remove, to position the cursor somewhere within it and then click the Unlink button (unlink). If you want to remove a link from an image, simply click the image once to select it and then click the Unlink button. If the html link is linking to an uploaded file or image, clicking the Unlink button won’t remove or delete that file, it will simply remove the hyperlink.

Saving and Publishing Content

Once you’ve added all your content to your Page or Post you have the option of Saving the Page as a Draft or Publishing the page. Clicking the Save Draft button will simply save your Page/Post. This is handy if you would like to come back at a later date to add more content or if you’re simply not ready to publish yet.

Clicking the Publish button will save your Page/Post and publish it on your website.

Clicking the Preview button will show you a preview of the current Page/Post.

There are also several options available when saving. By default the Status is set to Draft but this can be changed by clicking the Edit link just to the right of Status: within the Publish panel.

  • Pending Review means the draft is waiting for review by an editor prior to publication.
  • Draft means the post has not been published and remains a draft for you.

You can also change the visibility of the Page by clicking the Edit link just to the right of Visibility: within the Publish panel.

  • Public is the default and means the page is viewable to all. There is also an option to make the Post ‘sticky’. Sticky posts are placed at the top of all blog posts and stay there even after new posts are published.
  • Password Protected allows you to assign a password to your page. Only people who have the password will be able to access the page.
  • Private hides the content from the public completely. Normal users and visitors will not be aware of private content. You will only see the private content when you are logged into your WordPress blog.

By default, when you click the Publish button your Page/Post is published immediately. To change this, click the Edit link just to the right of Publish immediately within the Publish panel. You can then select the date and time that you’d like to schedule your Page/Post to be published. You must also click the Publish button when you have updated the date and time fields to publish at the desired date and time.

Recent Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search

Copyright © 2017 AES All Rights Reserved